NYSSCA Safety Awards Handed Out To Vintage Competitors At Fonda


Story By: RON SZCZERBA - FONDA, NY - On Saturday evening May 21 the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series (MVVDMS) raced at the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway with the following drivers winning the events in their respective divisions including Jimmy Fugel (Antiques), Carl Cram (Mystiques), John Roese (Late Model), Joe Rando (Sportsman), and John Flach (Modified).

The New York State Stock Car Association (NYSSCA) held their Safety Awards Night for the MVVDMS as well with the following drivers winning those awards: Jimmy Fugel and Speedy Niedeheimer (Vintage Antique), Carl Cram and Harry Baldwin (Vintage Mystique), John Roese and Will Reed (Vintage Late Model), Joe Rando and Bryon Seyfried (Vintage Sportsman), and John Flach and Jack Miller (Vintage Modified) with the Wild Card Award going to George Berberich.

The first NYSSCA member to cross the finish line in each of the five different MVVDMS divisions received $75 while the second NYSSCA member to cross the finish line received $50 and the Wildcard winner received $50. All were also awarded a NYSSCA hat.

Other scheduled NYSSCA Safety Nights at this time include Fonda Speedway (6/11), Afton Speedway (6/24), Utica Rome (7/8), Woodhull (7/16), Glen Ridge (8/7), and Devils Bowl (8/20) with Safety Nights at Albany Saratoga and Lebanon Valley still to be determined at the time of this release.